Board of Directors

The Upper Blackstone board is responsible for setting the policy and direction of Upper Blackstone Clean Water. The board is also responsible for approval of budgets, ordinances, and other matters of administration.

Board members consist of residents or employees of the district member city, towns or districts. In order to ensure that Worcester, as the majority member of the board, retains a majority vote on the board, the board shall consist of 1 member representing each member of the district, except the City of Worcester, which shall appoint not less than 3 nor more than 5 board members. The total number of votes of the board shall equal 2 times the number of board members not from Worcester plus 1. The votes shall be distributed so that each board member not from Worcester shall be entitled to 1 vote with the remaining votes to be distributed evenly among the Worcester board members.

Meetings of the Board of Directors are open to the public. Minutes and agendas are available on this page and summarized here.

Staff Contacts

Board Members

Name Title
Matthew J. Labovites City of Worcester, Chairman
Philip G. Guerin City of Worcester, Vice Chairman
Gary Nelson Town of Millbury
Joanna E. Paquin, P.E. Town of Auburn
John R. Woodsmall, III, P.E. Town of Holden, Secretary
Donald G. Manseau Cherry Valley Sewer District
Austin J. Cyganiewicz Town of Rutland
Robert C. Antonelli, Jr. City of Worcester
Michael E. Traynor, Esq. City of Worcester
Jay J. Fink, P.E. City of Worcester
Kevin Duffy Town of West Boylston